Award-winning author Simon Morden joins Gollancz with a stunning SF quest across London

Friday, September 11th 2015

Really liking the sound of this one:

image003Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of two sweeping science fantasy novels from Philip K. Dick Award-winning author, Simon Morden. The world of Down Station and its sequel is built on another, magical, world that bears uncanny links to London.

Simon Morden joins Gollancz, the specialist SFF imprint of the Orion Publishing Group, with an out-of-the-ordinary novel with engaging characters, a gripping plot and a surprising take on familiar genre tropes and themes in the vein of Michael Moorcock and Julian May.

The World rights to the two books were brought by Gollancz Associate Editor Simon Spanton from Antony Harwood of Antony Harwood ltd.

Simon Spanton writes: “It’s a real thrill to be publishing Simon Morden especially with a book that takes your expectations and plays with them in such an entertaining way. It’s been a long time since I read a novel that had such a unique feel and which kept me guessing as much as Down Station. It’s an absorbing step into a constantly surprising world. And Simon is full of more equally fascinating proposals. It’s wonderful that he’s joined Gollancz.”

Simon Morden writes: “I’m obviously delighted that Gollancz are publishing Down Station and its sequel. It’s entirely natural that these strange, wonderful stories have found a place at a strange and wonderful publisher.  It feels very much like coming home.”

In Down Station a small group of commuters and tube workers witness a fiery apocalypse overtaking London. They make their escape through a service tunnel. Reaching a door they step through…and find themselves on a wild shore backed by cliffs and rolling grassland. Other people have arrived. The party embark on a quest to discover what has brought them all here and what this new world is and what their role in it is to be.

Simon Morden has won the Philip K. Dick Award and been a judge on the Arthur C. Clarke Award. A popular figure on the genre scene he has also proved to be a popular author of both noir SF and extravagant Fantasy themed SF. He has also been an editor at Focus magazine. He has a degree in Geology and Planetary Geophysics. He lives in Gateshead.

Simon Morden

About Gollancz: Gollancz is the oldest specialist SF & Fantasy publisher in the UK. Founded in 1927 and with a continuous SF publishing programme dating back to 1961, the imprint of the Orion Publishing Group is home to a galaxy of award-winning and bestselling authors. Through our long-running SF and Fantasy Masterworks programme, and major digital initiative the SF Gateway, Gollancz have one of the largest ranges of SF and Fantasy of any publisher in the world.

 

Down Station * Simon Morden * 18 February 2016 * Trade paperback / £16.99 * eBook £8.99

No comments yet


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *