THE LIE by C.L.Taylor

Sunday, May 10th 2015

Published by Avon
I know your name’s not really Jane Hughes . . .
Jane Hughes has a loving partner, a job in an animal sanctuary and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She’s happier than she’s ever been but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist.
Five years earlier Jane and her then best friends went on holiday but what should have been the trip of a lifetime rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of the women.
Jane has tried to put the past behind her but someone knows the truth about what happened.…

Read More ...

The Boy who Killed Demons by Dave Zeltserman

Monday, April 27th 2015

Published by Duckworth Overlook

My name’s Henry Dudlow.
I’m fifteen and a half. And I’m cursed. Or damned. Take your pick.
The reason? I see demons.
So begins the latest thriller by horror master Dave Zeltserman. The setting is quiet Newton, MA, where nothing ever happens. Nothing, that is, until two months after Henry Dudlow’s 13th birthday, when his neighbour, Mr. Hanley, suddenly starts to look different. While everyone else sees a balding man with a beer belly, Henry suddenly sees a nasty, bilious, rage filled demon. Once Henry catches onto the real Mr. Hanley, he starts to see demons all around him, and his boring, adolescent life is transformed.…

Read More ...

No Other Darkness by Sarah Hilary

Saturday, April 25th 2015

Published by Headline

From the Richard and Judy bestselling author Sarah Hilary. The phenomenal Marnie Rome returns in the outstanding follow up to the critically acclaimed SOMEONE ELSE’S SKIN.
Two young boys.
Trapped underground in a bunker.
Unable to understand why they are there.
Desperate for someone to find them.
Slowly realising that no-one will…
Five years later, the boys’ bodies are found and the most difficult case of DI Marnie Rome’s career begins.
Her only focus is the boys. She has to find out who they are and what happened to them.
For Marnie, there is no other darkness than this…
 
I was a big fan of Sarah Hilary’s crime fiction debut novel ‘Someone Else’s Skin’ but it’s always a concern for readers (and I’m sure the author too) when faced with the challenge of that ‘second book’ in a series.…

Read More ...

Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent

Tuesday, April 21st 2015

Published by Penguin

‘I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.’
Liz Nugent’s gripping novel of psychological suspense, Unravelling Oliver, is a complex and elegant study of the making of a sociopath in the tradition of Barbara Vine and Patricia Highsmith.
Oliver Ryan is a handsome and charismatic success story. He lives in the suburbs with his wife, Alice, who illustrates his award-winning children’s books and gives him her unstinting devotion. Their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease – enviable until, one evening after supper, Oliver attacks Alice and beats her into a coma.…

Read More ...

Through Dead Eyes by Chris Priestley

Monday, April 20th 2015

Published by Bloomsbury
I recently put a request out on twitter for recommendations of crime and horror books set in Amsterdam so I could get some themed reading done ahead of a visit there later this year.
Amongst the title suggestions for me to check out was ‘Through Dead Eyes’ by Chris Priestley.
Here’s the amazon blurb:
Alex joins his father on a business trip to Amsterdam. During the day he hangs out with the daughter of a family friend. They visit the usual sights but also coffee shops and flea markets off the beaten track. At one of these markets Alex spots an ancient-looking mask.…

Read More ...

Bird Box by Josh Malerman @HarperVoyagerUK @JoshMalerman

Sunday, March 29th 2015

Published by Harper Voyager.
I’d heard nothing but good things about this novel, but it was the high praise from the chaps at the ‘This is Horror’ podcast that tipped me over the edge and led to me nabbing the copy that was lurking in my daughter’s room (she hadn’t quite got to reading it anyway).

And, my God! – What a book it is.
A terrifying premise that it might be what we can’t see that could kill us.
Here’s the blurb from amazon:
Malorie raises the children the only way she can: indoors.
The house is quiet. The doors are locked, the curtains are closed, mattresses are nailed over the windows.…

Read More ...

#EyesOpen – A photo post – Combined with New Year’s Day and ‘The Death House’ by Sarah Pinborough

Thursday, January 1st 2015

New Year’s Day.
A time for moving on, for looking forward, for setting all those goals we might just make in the next twelve months but most likely will forget within the coming weeks and months.
I’m as guilty as anyone of setting resolutions or foolhardy goals each year but rarely broadcast them as I’m certain to fall on my arse and leave the ammunition right here for others to say ‘But you said you’d……’ etc.
But I will throw them down here at that risk.
In 2015 my plans are loosely as follows;
To see more of the people that mean the most to me – family and friends, even if that might only be snatched days and moments when I can, it’ll be an improvement on what I’ve failed to do much of in the past year.…

Read More ...

Dying for Christmas by Tammy Cohen

Saturday, November 29th 2014

Published by Transworld

Sometimes, evil comes gift-wrapped . . .
I am missing. Held captive by a blue-eyed stranger. To mark the twelve days of Christmas, he gives me a gift every day, each more horrible than the last. The twelfth day is getting closer. After that, there’ll be no more Christmas cheer for me. No mince pies, no carols. No way out …
But I have a secret. No-one has guessed it. Will you?
 
Well, I certainly didn’t.
I haven’t read much in a while, due to other pressures, and have certainly slowed to a standing stop in my reviewing.…

Read More ...

David Jackson on twitter & my thoughts on Cry Baby

Friday, April 25th 2014

It’s been quite some time since I dropped out of regular book blogging – partly due to other pressures such as the ‘day-job’ and partly due to me wanting to attempt to free up some writing time. It’s been a strange and difficult transition, restraining from leaping to any upcoming book launch event or proof copy opportunity but, for the most part, I’ve been dealing with it – despite it feeling a little like cold turkey at times.
But then I happened upon a tweet in my timeline one evening.
It was purely by chance that I was on twitter at that time – as it’s another thing I’ve cut back on.…

Read More ...

Closing the books on 2013

Monday, December 23rd 2013

Where to start with a list of just five favourite reads of 2013? It’s quite a challenge and is sure to be something I reflect on and want to make changes to the moment I finish this – it’s a tough call in any year, but in 2013 I think it’s particularly tricky.

So, I’ll jump straight in with Neil Gaiman’s ‘The Ocean at the End of the Lane’ (Published by Headline) – a purely magical book linked to a traumatic real event in the author’s own young life and the supernatural and fairytale-like tale that he spins from it. If the Brothers Grimm were around and writing in 2013 I’m pretty sure that something akin to ‘Ocean’ is exactly the sort of book they’d have written.…

Read More ...